Positive No - Glossa NF-019


Positive No’s debut full length release is entitled Glossa. These 12 songs are a custom dictionary that illustrate and capture snapshots in time. Some are deeply personal modern tales dotted with local color while other expressions reflect ancient history from as far away as Iceland. Here guitars, bass, and drums burst like synchronized fireworks (think dynamic energy of the Chapel Hill guitar bands in the ‘90s - Archers of Loaf, Superchunk, and Polvo) while complex vocal melodies dart between the rawness of PJ Harvey and the twee charge of Amelia Fletcher from Heavenly. Lyrics are the fuel behind these moody pyrotechnics and for this reason the band has also created a 7” x 7” 26 page full color book. Band member and graphic designer Kenneth Close has produced a total of 12 unique art pieces partnered with the lyrics. In turn every song on Glossa has been treated like a short story worthy of its own book cover. For those who appreciate Factory Records or 4AD for their the album art as well as the music, this small book (that also comes with a digital download to the record) will speak volumes. The meticulous attention to detail in the music, the words, and the packaging is staggering.

Glossa was written by Kenneth Close & Tracy Wilson and then bound together with two distinct groups of people who have helped to translate and communicate this unique glossary. Positive No returned to the Magpie Cage in Baltimore, MD (J Robbins’ studio) in January of 2015 to record Glossa. The studio band lineup features the very same people who played on their EP Via Florum : Kenneth Close (guitar), James Menefee (bass), Willis Thompson (drums), and Tracy Wilson (vocals).

In the spring 2015 Positive No introduced a new rhythm section. The permanent band lineup post recording of Glossa will include Sadie Powers of Dead Fame and James O’Neill of Snowy Owls and Plain Scrap.

Pressing Information

200 CDs
100 Cassettes
40 Books w/digital download